County Board of Elections

The right to vote is our most precious freedom, and the Board of Elections is charged with protecting that fundamental right for all Campbell County citizens. The bipartisan agency consist of the:

  • County Clerk (Jim Luersen)
  • the Sheriff (Mike Jansen)
  • one democrat appointee (Jack Snodgrass)
  • and one republican appointee (Jim Schroer)

It is responsible for conducting all federal, state, and local elections. The staff also maintains all records of voter registration for Campbell County and past election history. As chairperson of the Board of Elections, the County Clerk is responsible for making sure that all election-related mandates of the Kentucky Constitution and the Kentucky Revised States are met.

Preparations for Election Day begin months in advance. 300 election officers must be recruited and trained to work on Election Day. The Board of Elections also accepts the filing papers of candidates and their campaign finance reports, places legal advertisements in the newspaper, delivers voting equipment, prepares the ballot, selects polling sites, and maps all precincts and legislative subdivisions.

Skip to content